Written in the Stars: Science Fiction Hall of Fame to induct

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame brings us only one arguably Northwest personality for its upcoming induction ceremony: William Gibson, who makes his home in Vancouver, B.C., when not traveling the world on feet, fleet upload and imagination. He is, however, the only inductee expected to receive his honors in person at the ceremony this coming Saturday, June 21, at the famous Experience Music Project and Science Fiction Museum building at Seattle Center. An appointee in the literature category, he'll receive his award-for popularizing "cyberpunk" and essentially revitalizing written science fiction for new commercial and critical recognition in the 80s and 90s-from New York City-based science fiction writer Jack Womack.
Two other inductees in the literature category, are Betty Ballantine and her late husband Ian Ballantine.They began taking science fiction to the public with Bantam Books in 1945, then launched their own Ballantine Books seven years later in 1952, bringing out among other titles, the first authorized American paperback editions of Tolkien's "Lord Of The Rings" books. Betty Ballantine is unable to appear in person, but Locus magazine editor Charles N. Brown will accept on her behalf.
The late Richard M. Powers, inductee in the art category, spent 20 years as the main cover artist for Doubleday press, and produced more than 1,500 covers and illustrations in his lifetime. His award, accepted by Richard Gid Powers and other members of the Powers family, will be presented by David Hartwell, an editor at Tor Books.
The remaining inductee, and probably the most famous of this year's crop is the late Rod Serling, creator and main scriptwriter of the original "Twilight Zone" television series. Enshrined in the film, television and media category, his award will be presented by Marc Scott Zicree, author of "The Twilight Zone Companion," and accepted by Serling's daughter, Anne Serling-Sutton.
According to Therese Littleton, director of curatorial affairs at the Science Fiction Museum, "The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was started in Kansas in 1996 by two organizations: the Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society and the J. Wayne and Elsie M. Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas. After nearly 10 years, the board of the Hall of Fame was searching for assurance that the awards would continue; coincidentally, the Science Fiction Museum was about to open in Seattle. In a mutually beneficial move, the Hall of Fame relocated to the Science Fiction Museum (now EMP|SFM) in Seattle in 2004, and the museum began co-administering the awards.
Nominations for induction are submitted annually by EMP|SFM museum members, who select nominees in the categories of literature, film and television, art and an open category. Inductees are then chosen from the list of nominees by a committee consisting of a rotating group of science fiction professionals from various fields. The committee always has at least one member from each of the fields of literature, film and television and art."
Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductee Ceremony
8 p.m., Saturday, June 21
Sky Church in the Experience Music Project Science Fiction Museum building, 325 Fifth Ave. N. at Seattle Center.
Tickets are $40 for EMP|SFM members, $50 for the general public. For more information call 206-262-3245 or visit

[[In-content Ad]]