Unofficial Primary results: Incumbents advance to general election

In Washington state primary races, based on unofficial results Tuesday, incumbent U.S. Sen. Patty Murray, a Democrat, and challenger Tiffany Smiley, a Republican, will advance to November's general election. In the U.S. representative race for Congressional District 7, incumbent Democratic Rep. Jamila Jayapal will advance, with Cliff Moon, a Republican, leading among her challengers, as of Tuesday evening. And in Congressional District 1, incumbent Suzan Delbene, a Democrat, will face Republican challenger Vincent Cavaleri. In the Washington Secretary of State race, incumbent Steve Hobbs will likely take on nonpartisan challenger Julie Anderson, who is currently Pierce County auditor, based on unofficial opening night results, with Bob Hagglund, a Republican, currently in third. 


U.S. Senator (statewide results): Vote, Vote percentage

Henry Clay Dennison, Socialist Workers Party: 6,406, 0.62 percent

Mohammad Hassan Said, Democratic Party: 7,581, 0.73 percent

John Guenther, Republican Party: 31,191, 3.02 percent

Tiffany Smiley, Republican Party: 330,176, 31.96 percent

Dan Phan Doan, No party preference: 1,851, 0.18 percent

Dr Pano Churchill, Democratic Party: 6,483, 0.63 percent

Dave Saulibio, JFK Republican Party: 10,155, 0.98 percent

Sam Cusmir, Democratic Party: 1,564, 0.15 percent

Bill Hirt, Republican Party: 9,164, 0.89

Jon Butler, Independent Party, 2,969, 0.29 percent

Bryan Solstin, Democratic Party, 5,188, 0.5 percent

Martin D. Hash, No party preference: 2,659, 0.26 percent

Patty Murray, Democratic Party: 557,978, 54 percent

Thor Amundson, Independent Party: 2,666, 0.26 percent

Charlie (Chuck) Jackson, Independent Party: 4,450, 0.43 percent

Naz Paul, Independent Party: 8,498, 0.82 percent

Ravin Pierre, Democratic Party: 9,997, 0.97 percent

Leon Lawson, Trump Republican Party: 33,389, 3.23 percent

Write-in: 880, 0.09 percent

Total: 1,033,245


Congressional District 7

U.S. Representative (Statewide results): Votes, Percentage

Cliff Moon, Republican Party: 8,784, 8.01 percent

Pramila Jayapal, Democratic Party: 91,963, 83.88 percent

Jesse A. James, Independent Party: 2,605, 2.38 percent

Paul Glumaz, Republican Party: 5,965, 5.44 percent

Write-in: 324, 0.3 percent

Total votes: 109,641


Congressional District 1 U.S. Representative: Votes, Vote percentage

Matthew Heines, Republican Party: 7,283, 8.15 percent

Derek K. Chartrand, Republican Party: 5,853, 6.55 percent

Vincent J. Cavaleri, Republican Party: 16,755, 18.77 percent

Tom Spears, No party preference: 2,423, 2.71 percent

Suzan DelBene, Democratic Party, 56,934, 63.7 percent

Write-in: 104, 0.12 percent

Total votes: 89,372


Secretary of State: Votes, Vote percentage

Bob Hagglund, Republican Party: 124,717, 12.36 percent

Kurtis Engle, Union Party: 3,665, 0.36 percent

Marquez Tiggs, Democratic Party: 77,759, 7.71 percent

Tamborine Borrelli, America First (R) Party: 39,207, 3.89 percent

Steve Hobbs, Democratic Party: 415,619, 41.2 percent

Keith L. Wagoner, Republican Party: 122,653, 12.16 percent

Mark Miloscia, Republican Party: 94,718, 9.39 percent

Julie Anderson, Nonpartisan Party: 129,616, 12.85 percent

Write-in: 866, 0.09 percent

Total votes: 1,008,820