King County Council approves new leadership, committee structure, assignments

The King County Council last week approved 2022 leaders and membership for the seven council committees, three regional committees, the Board of Health and the Flood Control District Board of Supervisors and Executive Committee.

Councilmember Claudia Balducci will remain chair of the council, while Councilmembers Girmay Zahilay and Dave Upthegrove were named as vice chairs. Additionally, the Mobility and Environment Committee was restructured as the Transportation, Economy and Environment Committee and the Local Services became the Local Services and Land Use Committee.

This is the complete list of committee membership:

Committee of the Whole: Councilmember Jeanne Kohl-Welles, chair; Councilmember Reagan Dunn, vice chair; Members: All

Budget and Fiscal Management: Councilmember Joe McDermott, chair; Upthegrove, vice chair; Members: councilmembers Rod Dembowski, Zahilay, Sarah Perry, Kohl-Welles, Balducci

Transportation, Economy and Environment: Dembowski, chair; Councilmember Pete von Reichbauer, vice chair; Members: Zahilay, Perry, Kohl-Welles, Upthegrove, Balducci, McDermott

Local Services and Land Use: Perry, chair; Balducci, vice chair; Members: Zahilay, McDermott, Dunn

Law, Justice, Health and Human Services: Zahilay, chair; Kohl-Welles, vice chair; Members: Dembowski, Perry, Balducci, Dunn

Government Accountability and Oversight: von Reichbauer, chair; Kohl-Welles, vice chair; Members: Balducci, McDermott, Dunn

Employment and Administration: Balducci, chair; Zahilay, vice chair; Members: All CMs

Regional Policy: von Reichbauer, chair; Kohl-Welles, alternate; Members: Dembowski, Balducci

Regional Water Quality: Dunn, chair; Members: Perry, Upthegrove

Regional Transit: Upthegrove, chair; Balducci, alternate; Members: Dembowski, McDermott

Board of Health: Dembowski, alternate; Members: Zahilay, Kohl-Welles, McDermott

Additionally, Upthegrove will chair the Flood Control District Board of Supervisors, and Dunn will be vice chair.